FOODIE FRIDAY!

I was location scouting this week and I went to Sneads Asparagus Farm. It’s a great location and I am excited to shoot there. When you visit Snead’s Farm they ask that you buy some of their produce or you can pay a $4 admission fee. I decided it would be more fun to buy some produce, especially something I had never cooked before!

Here enters Butternut Squash!

fall-3

I then began my pinterest search for recipes! I found a few that seemed interested but I chose to use them as inspiration instead of following the recipes! So I came up with a

Warm Roasted Butternut Squash Salad With Kale and Qunioa

1. The first task was to cut and peel the squash! I found that this was easier said then done. I cut the bottom and top off and then began peeling, but it was the bottom portion of the squash that just did not seem to cooperate with my peeler!

fall

Have you ever done this before? I eventually finished peeling both and then proceeded to chop it and half and cube the squash.So I might need to check into another peeler or…stop whining about it lol!

2. I placed the cubed squash in a bowl and coated them with olive oil and a little bit of salt and pepper.

fall-5

3. I placed the squash on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil and placed them in a 400 degree oven for 35mins . The timing could be different for you, just make sure you check the squab after about 30mins they should be a nice golden brown on top.

4. So while my squash was roasting in the oven I cut up 1 red onion and sautéed it in a large skillet with a little olive oil. I then added in 2 1/2 cups of vegetable stock, 1 tsp minced garlic and waited for it to come to a boil.

5. Once that came to a boil I added in a cup of quinoa , turned down the heat and let it simmer.

6. After about 10 minutes I checked my quinoa. A lot of the liquid had been absurd in the quinoa but it still was not tender enough for me so I added 1/2 cup more of stock and let it simmer. When I checked it again it was perfect!

7. Once the quinoa was done I grabbed a handful of kale and just stirred it into my pan, the heat from the quiona cooked the kale down enough.

8. The I tossed in the squash , scooped some out for me and ate!

fall-4

I loved this!!! The squash was sweet and the quinoa had soaked up all the delicious flavors from the vegetable stock and onions! I loved the contrast between the kale and the sweetness of the squash!

Leave a Reply

